May 27, 2009

FSM Congress Information

(Palikir, Pohnpei. May 13, 2009) - The Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia convened in Palikir on Monday at 10am for the Opening Session of the new Sixteenth Congress to seat the recently elected members of the new Congress.

Opening Sessions not only mark the First Regular Session of a new Congress, it also provides the platform for reorganization of the Congress leadership. Members of the new FSM Congress elected to maintain the presiding officers of the 15th Congress, but decided to re-shuffle the Chairpersons of the Congressional Committees.

The Presiding Officers of the new Sixteenth FSM Congress are: Speaker: Senator Isaac V. Figir Vice Speaker: Senator Resio S. Moses Floor Leader: Senator Joe N. Suka

The Chairperson for the seven Congressional Committees are:

Memberships in the Committees will be decided by the each delegation.

Chief Justice Andon L. Amaraich administered the Oath of Office of Senator to the states recently elected two-year senators and to the at-large or four year senators alike. In alphabetical order of States, sworn in members of the new Sixteenth FSM Congress are:

State of Chuuk

State of Kosrae

State of Pohnpei

State of Yap

The Opening Day was crowded as usual with leadership from both the national government and the state governments along with traditional leadership and members of the Diplomatic Community. Lending their presence to the day's proceedings were former Presidents John Haglelgam and Leo A. Falcam along with former Speakers Jack Fritz and Peter M. Christian. The National Anthem was sung by Mrs. Judy S. Penias. Those who were not in the Chambers on May 11th, were able to tune in to the local radio stations for the day's proceedings via a live-broadcast through the FSM Telecommunications Corporation.

The First Regular Session of the 16th FSM Congress is expected to last for 20-days, unless shortened or extended by resolution and pursuant to the Constitution, the two-year cycle for the Sixteenth Congress of the FSM would be from May 11, 2009 through May 10, 2011.